THE ARTISTIC LIFE – Living the creative life in everything we do

I’m recovering from a cold and even took a day off work yesterday (rare, unless it’s for cancer treatment!). Luckily, our CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) shares started this week also, so I had a fridge full of fresh organic veggies and farm fresh eggs. I also had some spices on hand, which seems to make me feel better when I’m sick. So, I made some easy healthy veggie soup to ease my throat, my fever…and my tastebuds…

I am calling this “Kale Egg Drop Soup” or “A-Good-Soup-For-When-You-Have-A-Cold Soup”:

– Chicken or Vegetable Broth
– Kale or other greens
– Garlic
– Spring onions
– Ginger
– Eggs (especially if they’re farm fresh)
– a little Jasmine rice
– As many herbs as you’d like…I used Rosemary, a Chipotle spice blend, Old Bay seasoning, an Indian spice blend, Cardomom, and a little Cinnamon
– Curry powder
– Salt and Pepper

Wash the kale and remove stems. Chop the spring onions, garlic, and ginger. Throw everything (except the eggs) into a big pot and add the herbs and spices according to taste (hopefully your cold won’t prohibit you from tasting a little bit!). Once everything has been simmering for a while and the kale is cooked, crack open a couple of the eggs and drop them into the soup. Stir everything and eat once the eggs are cooked, or allow everything to simmer for awhile and make your kitchen smell (if you can smell!) aromatic. This is easy enough to make while you’re sick and it helped me feel better quickly!

Comments on: "Veggie Soup for the Soul" (2)

  1. I love your soup – especially with the eggs. Yum.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

