THE ARTISTIC LIFE – Living the creative life in everything we do

Easy Chalkboard DIY

After being inspired by a lot of craft and home organization projects on Pinterest, I’ve been rushing home from work lately to try to fit in my own little creative projects. One of these projects is my DIY framed chalkboard. I’d been browsing Pottery Barn and Ballard Design catalogs, and both companies offered a very classy framed chalkboard for displaying the menu of the day or household to-do lists. Of course these were very costly. Here’s my own DIY version for a fraction of the cost.

1) Buy a small can of chalkboard paint at your local Home Depot, Lowes, or other home improvement store. You can also look online for a recipe to make your own paint.

2) I found an empty frame I had lying around the house. The size was perfect for my pantry wall, to replace the ratty old dry erase board we had there.

3) I found a flat piece of cardboard and trimmed it down to fit in the frame I found.

4) Using acrylic gesso, I primed the cardboard.

5) Once the gesso was dry, I painted 2 coats of chalkboard paint onto the primed cardboard, letting it dry for a day between each coat.

6) I fit the painted cardboard into the frame with the frame backing and used industrial strength adhesive-backed Velcro to attach to wall.

7) (optional) We had this little container that we also Velcro’d to the wall. This is to hold the chalk and eraser. If you use a frame that has a bit of a shelf or lip, you can keep your chalk there.

Note: I also saw Magnetic Paint next to the Chalkboard Paint at Lowes. Another option would be to create a magnetic board instead, or even layer the magnetic paint underneath the chalkboard paint to make this a multi-purpose magnetic blackboard!

20120208-095128.jpg

Comments on: "Easy Chalkboard DIY" (3)

  1. I love that chalkboard paint! So many fun uses, for example if you have kids(or kids at heart) , like a friend of mine; she painted the top of a table with the chalkboard paint to put in her kids play room. They loved it. Plus she told me she saved a ton on paper. Last time I talked to her she said, she was thinking of doing a section of the wall like that, but I haven’t talked to her since. Thanks for the awesome idea.

  2. […] Feb-8 https://theartisticlife.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/easy-chalkboard-diy/ […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

