THE ARTISTIC LIFE – Living the creative life in everything we do

Keep On Keepin’ On

image

Had a great weekend, despite the up-in-the-air status of my health right now. I received some out-of-town company, presented my latest oil painting to my customer, won awards in a Smithfield photography competition, enjoyed some local historic sightseeing and shopping, and made these fun buffalo burgers (see pic).

I went to the Arts @ 319 Center to find that 4 out of my 5 entries for the Pork-a-razzi Smithfield Tourism photography competition won awards! I received 3rd place overall, 1st place for Windsor Castle Park category, and 2 Honorable Mentions! My photos were nicely exhibited with the other winners and entries and I’m honored that Smithfield may be using my photos for promotional materials. Go Hamtown!

On Sunday, I was feeling creative with supper and made open-faced buffalo burgers with goat cheese, radicchio, tomato, and avocado with a drizzle of EVOO. Buffalo meat is a healthy option, which is leaner than most red meat. It also has a rich flavor and complemented the toppings quite well. Here is the simple recipe:

Open Faced Buffalo Burgers with Goat Cheese, Radicchio, Tomato & Avocado

  • 1 package ground buffalo meat (Curt found this at our local BJs)
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • slices of bread or hamburger buns (I used pumpernickel)
  • a few tablespoons of goat cheese (ours was garlic flavored)
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 slice of radicchio per burger
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Basically, just mix the ground meat with the onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and basil. Form into patties. Use your preferred method of cooking hamburgers (I used a stovetop grill pan). Place one slice of bread or half of hamburger bun on each place. Place cooked burger on top. Spread goat cheese on each burger. Top each burger with the remaining ingredients.

Bon Appetit – buffalo style!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

